Volumes of Fun

This is my 312th post since I arrived at WordPress way back on April 23rd of this year.  I had no idea of what to expect when I joined this community, in fact I was not even aware that WordPress was a community.  I discovered WordPress when I wanted to publish a book that I had written and I read that I should get an author platform, because I was planning to self publish.  Self publishing only came to be an option after the dozens of rejection letters that I received from publishers that I pitched my book to.  This author platform would be a way for me to get involved in selling my work, and doing promotion for my book.

The WordPress community welcomed me and WordPress is my author platform, however my book still has not been published.  I moved into WordPress in the dead of night and nobody knew me here, but I had plenty to say.  It was easy for me to make friends here, as I probably read more posts when I first got here compared to the ones that I wrote.  I currently have 95 followers, but when I first started writing, I don’t think that anybody read any of my posts.  WordPress lets you track the LIKES that you get on your posts and there are 20 posts that I wrote which go no LIKES at all and these are, Why Facebook, I Don’t Like to Follow Rules, Blowing in the Wind, Down the Home Stretch, Empty Bed Syndrome, Graveyard Shift, Three Topics to Avoid, Building Castles in the Sand, Venting Frustration, Teach Your Children, I just joined Twitter, Silliness, A day without you, All pink on the inside, It is you, that I want to pursue, Why do people search for True Love?, Understanding Loneliness, How Time Flies, Inspiration and It is possible that I drank too much that night.

If you want to read them and show me some LIKE, I would be fine with that, but that is not the reason that I write.  Writing is VOLumes of fun for me.  I am not looking for followers, or for LIKES, I enjoy expressing my opinion and doing research, so I can learn things and then relate what I learned to my readers.  I am a long winded writer and many people probably quit reading my posts before they get to the end and I understand that, as there just isn’t enough time in this busy world that we live in.

This post is not supposed to be about me or WordPress, so let me get to the point, ‘The malevolent revolting volleyball player acted frivolously volatile in that convoluted evolution while eating provolone covered in volcanic ash.’

This September 16, 2017 week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt from Linda G. Hill says that we are to find a word with ‘vol’ in it, use it in our post and have fun with it.

16 thoughts on “Volumes of Fun

  1. I enjoy your posts, I like the effort and research that goes into them, I’m going to go back and look at some of your older posts but I just tend to read what comes up on my reader of the posts I follow, I like the idea that some people have throw back days where they re-blog stuff that may not have had much traffic since it was posted before they started to acquire many followers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You started your blog on WordPress about a month before I started mine. Maybe on some rainy day when I have nothing planned, I’ll go back and read the posts I’ve missed. Just one question: will any of that content be on the test? 😱

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have no idea how to get more likes and/or followers on wordpress. It all seems so random. Keep doing what you want to do as far as your writing. Hopefully someday it will grab the worlds attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I will keep writing as I do not have a choice in the matter. I am sucked into my computer like it is a black hole that needs me here. I don’t think that I will ever get world attention, but any attention is better than none.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment