Dress Up Day

Back on August 30, 2020 when we had the prompt of Cruel/Evil/Horrible/Monster/Wicked, somebody mentioned that this might be a good prompt for Halloween and I told them that I would come up with something else for that.  Halloween is a holiday which is celebrated each year on October 31 and it gives everyone the chance to be creative by decorating or getting dressed in a costume.  This holiday was once exclusively for kids so they could have fun and get candy, but no so much anymore, as many adults still want to be kids.  Did the millennials’ refuse to grow up and enter the real world by embracing this holiday when they got older?  Wearing costumes can create a sense of wonder and possibility that may allow you to explore a different identity.

Last week we had Magic 8 Ball which required everyone to use one of the prompt words being either No/Yes.  This week we have the Halloween related prompts of Ghost/Pumpkin/Trick/Treat/Witch.  Take some time to read the posts of other bloggers who respond to this music challenge, as you will probably find many enjoyable songs and it is quite possibly that you will learn a thing or two.  Share your music with others and post a video, try do some research and let everyone know something about the song that you post.  Tell everyone why you like the song, whether it was a hit, or what you think the song is about.  Show the lyrics, let’s all listen to our favorite songs and explore some new music.  Try to find a song that fits the prompt, then write your post and create a pingback, or you can just place your link in the comments section. 

Here are the “rules”:
• Post the lyrics to the song of your choice, whether it contains the prompt words or not.  If it does not meet the criteria, then please explain why you chose this song.
• Please try to include the songwriter(s) – it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due.
• Make sure you also credit the singer/band and if you desire you can provide a link to where you found the lyrics.
• Link to the YouTube video, or pull it into your post so others can listen to the song.
• Ping back to this post or place your link in the comments section below.
• Read at least one other person’s blog, so we can all share new and fantastic music and create amazing new blogging friends in the process.
• Feel free to suggest future prompts.
• Have fun and enjoy the music.

This week I am writing about the song ‘I Just Wanna Make Love To You’ by Willie Dixon.  Next week I will be writing about the Norman Span, who recorded under the name King Radio song ‘Man Smart, Woman Smarter’.  The upcoming prompts will be:
November 1, 2020 – Smart/Stupid
November 8, 2020 – Days of the Week
November 15, 2020 – Begin/End/Finish/Start
November 22, 2020 Fiancé/Husband/Lover/Wife

60 thoughts on “Dress Up Day

  1. It was the millenials that refused, it was the Gen X and Baby Boomers like me & Frank! LOL! I can’t believe I’m not dressing up this year, but maybe I will change my mind if I can figure out a way to have trick-or-treaters without getting close to them. My mind was made up, but I’m reconsidering as it is one of my favorite things to do. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simple Minds at Live Aid. Was it really that long ago?

    Cities, buildings falling down
    Satellites come crashing down
    I see them falling out the skies like eagles
    All mirrored glass and shattered egos
    But in a corner of the world we’d meet to laugh and drink and plan our sequels
    ‘Cause in the alleyways and bars downtown
    They’re singing up from here to there can we go
    This city comes alive at night, see these city walls are heaving
    And if these old city walls should crash, amid the rubble you’d find us
    breathing
    Come say what you see in me
    ‘Cause boy, I believe in you
    Come say what you’re seeing
    All gone just ghost dancing, going all the way through

    You talk about the Lebanon
    You tell me ’bout the Dawn in Eden
    You talk about South Africa
    I tell you about the Irish children
    You say one more Polish Knight could come and blow away the doors to Freedom
    And if Mother Ethiopia could blow away the tears that we see run
    O blow them away,
    Blow, blow away
    We will blow them away
    O blow, blow away
    Blow, blow away
    Blow, blow away

    Come say what you see in me
    ‘Cause boy, I believe in you
    Come say what you’re seeing
    They’re all gone just ghost dancing, going all the way through

    You know I believe in you
    Oh yes I believe, you know I believe in you
    You say you believe
    I believe, I believe, going all the way through, yeah
    Come take me back home, come on and take me away
    Ghost Dancing

    The car pulled up, the girl she jumped in
    The boy he wore a medal that was shining from his skin
    With the windows pulled up, their radio tuned in
    She’s hitting from the stars, he’s hitting for the moon
    She said, one last kiss while you look across the Land
    Move it into overdrive and take me by my hand
    When the car broke, the rebels saw smoke
    And they all went to heaven in a stupid fantasy, go
    Take me away

    Source: LyricFind

    Songwriters: Charles Burchill / James Kerr / Michael Joseph Macneil
    Ghost Dancing lyrics © BMG Rights Management US, LLC, EMI Music Publishing

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment