Measured with a Thermometer

Water can exist as a solid (ice), liquid (water) or steam in its (vapor or gas) phase.  Adding heat can cause ice (a solid) to melt to form water (a liquid).  Removing heat causes water (a liquid) to freeze to form ice (a solid).  When water changes to a solid or a gas, it has changed to a different state of matter.  Even though the water’s physical form changes, its molecules stay the same.  When a substance goes from one state of matter solid, liquid, or gas to another state of matter, some rather interesting things occur.  Heat causes molecules to begin vibrating faster and faster and a solid will change to a liquid at it melting point and then a gas at its boiling point.

Last week we had Mary Poppins and everyone was asked to find a song using the prompt of either Maria/Marie/Mary.  This week we have temperature prompts of Cool/Freeze/Heat/Melt and hopefully this will fit for everyone.  Take some time to read the posts of other bloggers who respond to this music challenge, as you will probably find many enjoyable songs and it is quite possibly that you will learn a thing or two.  Share your music with others and post a video, try do some research and let everyone know something about the song that you post.  Show the lyrics, let’s all listen to our favorite songs and explore some new music.  Try to find a song that fits the prompt, then write your post and create a pingback, or you can just place your link in the comments section.

Here are the “rules”:
• Post the lyrics to the song of your choice, whether it fits the theme or not.  If it does not fit, then please explain why you chose this song.
• Please try to include the songwriter(s) – it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due.
• Make sure you also credit the singer/band and if you desire you can provide a link to where you found the lyrics.
• Link to the YouTube video, or pull it into your post so others can listen to the song.
• Ping back to this post or place your link in the comments section below.
• Read at least one other person’s blog, so we can all share new and fantastic music and create amazing new blogging friends in the process.
• Feel free to suggest future prompts.
• Have fun and enjoy the music.

I am writing about the Grateful Dead song ‘He’s Gone’ this week.  Next week I will be writing about the song ‘Hard to Handle’ by Otis Redding.  The upcoming prompts will be:
July 5, 2020 – Best/Better/Good/Great
July 12, 2020 – Air/Earth/Fire/Water
July 19, 2020 – Baking/Bread/Cake/Pie/Picnic
July 26, 2020 – Different/Same

53 thoughts on “Measured with a Thermometer

  1. “Let It Go” from “Frozen”

    Sung by Idina Menzel and written by Kristen and Robert Lopez. I think it fits the theme of “freeze” very well. I personally prefer the movie version over the soundtrack version by Demi Lovato. I usually prefer the movie version of most songs.

    The snow glows white on the mountain tonight
    Not a footprint to be seen
    A kingdom of isolation
    And it looks like I’m the queen

    The wind is howling like this swirling storm inside
    Couldn’t keep it in, heaven knows I tried!

    Don’t let them in, don’t let them see
    Be the good girl you always have to be
    Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know
    Well, now they know!

    Let it go, let it go
    Can’t hold it back anymore
    Let it go, let it go
    Turn away and slam the door!

    I don’t care
    What they’re going to say
    Let the storm rage on
    The cold never bothered me anyway!

    It’s funny how some distance
    Makes everything seem small
    And the fears that once controlled me
    Can’t get to me at all!

    It’s time to see what I can do
    To test the limits and break through
    No right, no wrong, no rules for me I’m free!

    Let it go, let it go
    I am one with the wind and sky
    Let it go, let it go
    You’ll never see me cry!

    Here I stand
    And here I’ll stay
    Let the storm rage on!

    My power flurries through the air into the ground
    My soul is spiraling in frozen fractals all around
    And one thought crystallizes like an icy blast
    I’m never going back
    The past is in the past!

    Let it go, let it go
    And I’ll rise like the break of dawn
    Let it go, let it go
    That perfect girl is gone!

    Here I stand
    In the light of day
    Let the storm rage on
    The cold never bothered me anyway!

    https://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/idinamenzel/letitgo.html

    Liked by 8 people

  2. One of my favs from the early 80s

    Love saw it in your eyes
    Sensed it in your smile
    Boy I like your style
    Oh yeah

    When I saw you on the floor doing the southern freeez
    Then I knew you were the one the only one for me

    Love feel it in your touch
    In the way you move
    I like it very much yes I do

    Time time is moving on
    Guess it’s getting late
    Soon you’ll take me home

    People everywhere doing the southern freeez
    Laughing all the time this is the life for me

    Heartbeat whisper in my ears
    Now it won’t be long no
    Just you and me my dear yeah
    Sweet darling making love so slow
    Your so beautiful yes you are
    You got me all a glow

    When I saw you on the floor doing the southern freeez
    Then I knew you were the one, the only one for me

    Source: Musixmatch

    Songwriters: Johnny Rocca / John Stennett / Peter Maas

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment