The Can Can

Can I get you some fries with that, is something that I have been fortunate enough to never have had to say.  When I think I can, I think I can turns wrong it becomes, I thought I could, I thought I could.  Having a can do attitude might allow you to accomplish many things.  I have opened up many a can of worms and I only went fishing twice in my life.  He said, “That’s okay, boy, won’t you feed him when you can”, Take a load off Fanny, (Sorry I started singing, but I am thinking that you actually like my singing anyway).  I used to watch Popeye when I was younger and he would eat a can of spinach so he could beat up Bluto and rescue Olive Oyl.  Time to put this post in the can.

Written for 10/20/18 Linda G. Hill’s ‘Life in progress’ Stream of Consciousness Saturday where the prompt is “can” with bonus points issued for starting and or ending with the prompt.  I imagine that double bonus points can be collected for doing both.  Bonus points for Linda if she can name the song that I was singing.

22 thoughts on “The Can Can

  1. Popeye was on our TV a lot. Maybe my dad liked it. Or maybe there were not a lot of cartoons to choose from back then. Now I realize I don’t like the characters much, but since I turned out to be a vegetarian, I can really appreciate that a can of spinach can make you stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a cartoon for boys, kind of like the Three Stooges. Popeye’s testimony that he is “strong to the finish, ‘cause I eats my spinach” is apparently born from a mistake that was made 50 years before he became popular. A mathematical error was made where spinach’s iron content was miscalculated by a German chemist when he misplaced a decimal point. This mistake gave birth to Popeye’s obsession with the vegetable, which the cartoon character eats vast quantities to boost his strength.

      Like

Leave a comment