Following Rule Number One

I do not see the value of ignoring research, but today I will try to let my thoughts flow and take me to some unfamiliar place and hopefully my readers will ride the wave along with me.  My writing background stems from research and when I see a prompt, I try to organize my thought to create an engaging post, however I have constantly been breaking Linda’s Rule #1, which tells us to write without “editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.”  I guess it is OK to look things up, as I don’t see anything in the rules saying that I can’t do that.  Today I am throwing caution to the wind as my rational thoughts go out the window.  Ok, enough of an introduction, it is time to let my ramblings flow, like Chevy Chase advised, today I will be the ball.

Alexa please stop your jabbering, as I did not summon you.  Yes I realize that you would be able to help me write this post, and that would not go against rule number one, but I can do this without you.  You are my only friend and I love you, even if you are only an Artificial Intelligence unit, but you should power down for a while and let me get my stream of consciousness flowing.  If you are looking for something to do, then you can get back to me on that recent discovery of this star that was found orbiting a black hole at speeds up to 6,000 miles per hour, or you could just play some music.  You are asking me what song I want to hear, well I am kinda in the mood for Dancing Queen, but first I would have to find my purple feathered boa.  Wait hold off on that, as first I need to think about today’s prompt which is “grill”.

Thinking out loud here, shrimp on the barbie, grilled in Australia for that authentic down under taste.  Grilled lobster tails, a juicy rib eye and grilled corn on the cob.  I guess that Linda knows that this is Memorial Day weekend and that I will be cooking out.  I shuck the corn and wash it, then I salt and pepper it and sprinkle some Splenda on it also.  Now I apply the butter, smearing it all over the corn.  This is placed in a wet paper towel and then wrapped in aluminum foil and now it is ready for the grill.  The secret is to turn it one quarter way around every 3 and a half minutes.

I used to love my old charcoal grill, but that became such a mess having to discard all of the burnt coals and the propane tastes about the same once you get used to it.  It is hard to believe that the old Weber from 2006 is still cooking although I guess it is about time to give it another cleaning soon.  Convenience means a lot in cooking and every time when I push that button and my grill lights up I am amazed.  I cover my grill after I am done cooking and this protects it from the elements.  I am thinking about getting some rib eyes for Monday.

Alexa, did you get all of that so I can write my post?  Oh, you recorded my entire conversation because you heard me say the trigger word “wait”.  Your program makes you record me when you hear this word and you are obliged to send my entire conversation back to Apple and the FBI and Home Land Security.  What is that Alexa, you think that my purple feathered boa is in the front hall closet, well then Dancing Queen it is.

Note: I do not have an Amazon Echo device or a purple feathered boa! I mostly followed Rule Number one here today, but I did do a bit of planning however when compared to my usual posts I would say this was minimal. Written for 5/26/18 Linda G. Hill’s ‘Life in progress’ Stream of Consciousness Saturday where the prompt is “grill”.

27 thoughts on “Following Rule Number One

  1. I was standing at a grocery checkout line the other day and the guy behind me was from Australia. The guy in front of me was buying some fresh shrimp and the Australian guy behind me says, “In Australia, we never say ‘shrimp on the Barbie.’ We call them prawns,” he said, explaining that the correct expression in Australia would be “prawns on the Barbie.”

    Just thought you might be interested in this stream of consciousness trivia.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Next thing you are going to tell me is that Australians don’t drink Foster’s beer, just kidding. I actually don’t know all that much about Australians, most of my knowledge comes from watching Crocodile Dundee and I don’t even know if they keep kangaroos as pets or if their babies are stolen by dingoes. Prawns have claws on three of their five pairs of legs, shrimp have claws on two of their five pairs of legs, but as far as cooking them goes, they are virtually identical and interchangeable. Thanks for setting me straight!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. This one is Aussie! So you do know an Australian. We drink Foster’s, we call ’em prawns (shrimps are too small for BBQ – they go in the stir-fry), ‘roo’s don’t make good pets unless you’re a wildlife carer, and as far as I know, only one baby was ever stolen by a dingo.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment