Temporal Loop

I woke up this morning at 4:25 AM, but my alarm was set for 5 AM, so I figured that I could get another 35 minutes of sleep.  I woke again feeling relaxed, thinking that I had gotten some extra sleep, but then I checked my clock and it still said 4:25 AM.  I decided that since I felt rested, that I would just get up now and start doing my stuff.  I went to the bathroom to do my morning business then I shaved and hopped in the shower.  I was getting dressed when I saw the clock still displaying the same time and that seemed real strange to me.  I switched on the TV to get the morning news and I realized that I was getting yesterday’s news.  Then I saw my clock and the time displayed on my TV finally change to 4:26.

My first thought was that I must be stuck in a temporal loop, where things that have happened before are being repeated again.  This felt like déjà vu all over again, and I thought that I was reliving experiences that I had already done many times before and I knew that I had been here in this same situation time and time again.  What did this mean?  Was I to be stuck in the same day forever?  Could I do something to test the limits of the time loop that I am stuck in?  Maybe I could see if there are any rules for this unique situation by changing some of the things that I did yesterday.  I remember exactly what happened yesterday and maybe I could use my knowledge of the upcoming events to get out of this time loop.

Maybe this is my lucky day and I can set myself up to win the lottery, or buy some stocks that I know will increase in value.  I could try to learn some new skills, improve myself and ultimately become a better person.  Maybe I entered the Twilight Zone, or someone torn a hole in Space Time continuum, so I will be lost forever in this time loop where everything keeps occurring over and over multiple times.  I knew that this is October, so I was not going to meet Bill Murray or see a groundhog, but I might be trapped in this same sequence of events for a very long time.  I thought that it is possible that my neurons were misfiring causing a temporary glitch in the processing of incoming information that is going to my brain, but I had no way of testing this.

Could I ever escape?  I figured that the only way that I would be getting out of this time loop was to figure out why this was happening and then learn what I could do about it.  If I just take it in stride and see where it goes, will it resolve itself?  I would not be able to explain my situation to anyone, as no one would ever believe me and their memories will only start from where this time loop began.  Did the military put me here because I said something derogatory about Donald Trump in my last post?

Written for Jina Bazzar authorsinspirations September 26, 2017 short story writing prompt which is Lucky day.

6 thoughts on “Temporal Loop

Leave a comment