Do You Feel Lucky, Punk?

Punk rock is said to be a reaction to disco a genre of dance music, Adult contemporary (AC) a form of radio-played popular songs, string-heavy pop tunes and mainstream rock music which was created for popular appeal.  Punk started out as a rejection of popular music where the artists that created this music veered away from its rebellious roots in different directions.  Punk is a raw style of music that has its roots in the 1970s and punk songs are usually short and intense, often about political topics or with anti-establishment messages.  Punk rock is generally a little bit faster than regular rock music, a little bit simpler, more aggressive, and it incorporates a more devil may care attitude.  Punk is marked by an extreme and often deliberately offensive expressions of alienation, social discontentment and a disconnection from the mainstream society that became a glimmering cesspool swirling down the drain.  Punk rockers embraced raw energy, fast tempos, short song forms, shouted lyrics, and they had a DIY “do it yourself” work ethic that allowed them to thrive on the fringes of the music industry.  Many people believe that punk rock started simultaneously in New York City and in London.

Last week we had I Am Not British where the theme was to find with a Mersey Beat, or Mersey Sound or you could go with a band from Surrey.  This week the theme is to find punk songs.  Take some time to read the posts of other bloggers who respond to this music challenge, and even better, read as many of them as you can as you will probably find many enjoyable songs and it is quite possibly that you will learn a thing or two.  Share your music with others and post a video, try do some research and let everyone know something about the song that you post.  Tell everyone why you like the song, whether it was a hit, or what you think the song is about.  Show the lyrics, let’s all listen to our favorite songs and explore some new music.  Try to find a song that fits the theme, then write your post and create a pingback, or you can just place your link in the comments section.

Suggestions
• Try to use the prompt words or at least conform to a general theme, as you see it.  If the song you select does not meet the criteria, then please explain why you chose this song.
• It would be good if you could post the lyrics to the song of your choice, as this is helpful for the people that want to follow along with the music.
• Please try to include the songwriter(s) – it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due. It would also be a good idea to give credit to the singer and the band associated with your song.
• Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be, but please try not to include too many videos as that just makes it take longer to look at all of the other posts.
• Link to the YouTube video, or you can pull it into your post, so others can listen to the song.
• Ping back to this post or place your link in the comments section below.
• Read at least one other person’s blog, so we can all share new and fantastic music and create amazing new blogging friends in the process.
• Feel free to suggest future prompts.
• Have fun and enjoy the music.

This week I will be writing about the Patti Smith song ‘Horses’, and next week, I will be writing about the song ‘Have Love, Will Travel’ by The Sonics.  The upcoming prompts will be:
January 1, 2023 – Garage Rock
January 8, 2023 – Paisley Underground
January 15, 2023 – Metal Music
January 22, 2023 – Country Music

28 thoughts on “Do You Feel Lucky, Punk?

  1. Happy Christmas, Jim. An interesting choice of theme for Christmas Day! If I’d been playing I’d have gone for The Clash – for me they were by far the best of the bunch, and I don’t say that just because I went to school with Nick Headon. Not an obvious choice, perhaps, but this was the only one on which he took lead vocal: https://youtu.be/i70zREBdvss

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This was actually the first song on Sandinista that I liked. When the Clash dropped the album (in 1980?) I was perplexed. It was nothing like their earlier work. But this song fit the mold. I never knew Topper sang this song. Neat that you went to school with him. BTW-I absolutely adore Sandinista! now, as I have these past 40 years.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was an eclectic mix of an album, wasn’t it. A band exploring new styles and it was poorly received at the time. It made #19 in the UK Albums chart but all their other five albums did better. I don’t often go back to it these days, though maybe I should.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Merry Christmas Jim. I’m catching up on the blogs as I wasn’t online on Christmas Day.
    I was really into punk at the time and saw a number of bands live. My favourite’s were; The Damned, The Sex Pistols, Buzzcocks, Adverts, Eater, Slaughter & The Dogs…and many more!

    Short, sharp and spontaneous.

    s she really going out with him?

    I got a feeling inside of me
    It’s kind of strange like a stormy sea
    I don’t know why I don’t know why
    I guess these things have got to be

    I gotta new rose I got it good
    Guess I knew that I always would
    I can’t stop to mess around
    I got a brand new rose in town

    See the sun see the sun it shines
    Don’t get too close or it’ll burn your eyes
    Don’t you run away that way
    You can come back another day

    I got a new rose I got it good
    Guess I knew that I always would
    I can’t stop to mess around
    I got a brand new rose in town

    I never thought this could happen to me
    This is strange why should it be
    I don’t deserve somebody this great
    I’d better go or it’ll be too late

    I got a feeling inside of me
    It’s kind of strange like a stormy sea
    I don’t know why I don’t know why
    I guess these things have got to be

    I got a new rose I got her good
    Guess I knew that I always would
    I can’t stop to mess around
    I got a brand new rose in town

    Source: Musixmatch

    Songwriters: Brian James

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment