Songs That Describe Your Life

Is there a song that reminds you of when you were growing up, or one that makes you think about the life you shared with your sweetheart?  If you were going through some hard times, is there a song that you think about?  You should take pride in the qualities that set you apart from others, as you are unique from all the other 7.753 billion people that are on this planet and there probably is a song out there someplace that represents you, even if have extremely eclectic taste.  Music can be magical, as it is able to take you to a certain time in your life where you remember exactly when you became the person that you are now.  Music won’t change who you are, but the kind of music that you like, can have a big impact on your personality, and I know that the Grateful Dead did that for me.  I think that some people do become what they listen to.  I’ve just kissed a girl named Maria, and suddenly I’ve found how wonderful a sound can be, and that name will never be the same to me.

Last week we had Sadly Missed where the theme was a song by a band that you wish were still together.  This week the theme is a song that reminds you of yourself.  Take some time to read the posts of other bloggers who respond to this music challenge, and even better, read as many of them as you are able to as you will probably find many enjoyable songs and it is quite possibly that you will learn a thing or two.  Share your music with others and post a video, try do some research and let everyone know something about the song that you post.  Tell everyone why you like the song, whether it was a hit, or what you think the song is about.  Show the lyrics, let’s all listen to our favorite songs and explore some new music.  Try to find a song that fits the theme, then write your post and create a pingback, or you can just place your link in the comments section.

Suggestions
• Try to use the prompt words or at least conform to a general theme, as you see it.  If the song you select does not meet the criteria, then please explain why you chose this song.
• It would be good if you could post the lyrics to the song of your choice, as this is helpful for the people that want to follow along with the music.
• Please try to include the songwriter(s) – it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due. It would also be a good idea to give credit to the singer and the band associated with your song.
• Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be, but please try not to include too many videos as that just makes it take longer to look at all of the other posts.
• Link to the YouTube video, or you can pull it into your post, so others can listen to the song.
• Ping back to this post or place your link in the comments section below.
• Read at least one other person’s blog, so we can all share new and fantastic music and create amazing new blogging friends in the process.
• Feel free to suggest future prompts.
• Have fun and enjoy the music.

This week I will be writing about Sonny & Cher song ‘But You’re Mine’, and next week, I will be writing about the song ‘The Same Thing’ by Willie Dixon.  The upcoming prompts will be:
October 30, 2022 – Embrace, Hug, Kiss
November 6, 2022 – Songs from artists who have famous musician parents, suggested by Paula of Light Motifs II
November 13, 2022 – Songs by an artist or a group that was featured on the cover of Rolling Stone magazine
November 20, 2022 – Songs with recognizable intros suggested by Clive from Take It Easy

22 thoughts on “Songs That Describe Your Life

  1. I’ve followed Depeche Mode’s career from the beginning in 1981 and can say that they are the band that I have collected the most vinyl albums, 7″ & 12″ singles, cd albums, cassette singles etc. over the years.
    Enjoy The Silence is the track that reminds me of myself because I’ve not only experienced it with a lover but also on my own.

    Words like violence
    Break the silence
    Come crashing in
    Into my little world
    Painful to me
    Pierce right through me
    Can’t you understand?
    Oh, my little girl

    All I ever wanted
    All I ever needed
    Is here in my arms
    Words are very unnecessary
    They can only do harm

    Vows are spoken
    To be broken
    Feelings are intense
    Words are trivial
    Pleasures remain
    So does the pain
    Words are meaningless
    And forgettable

    All I ever wanted
    All I ever needed
    Is here in my arms
    Words are very unnecessary
    They can only do harm

    All I ever wanted
    All I ever needed
    Is here in my arms
    Words are very unnecessary
    They can only do harm

    All I ever wanted
    All I ever needed
    Is here in my arms
    Words are very unnecessary
    They can only do harm

    Source: LyricFind

    Songwriters: Martin Gore

    Enjoy the Silence lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment