Going Deep

Vinyl records have grooves which are called cuts, and this is where the needle, or cartridge, or stylus is placed so it can move while the record is spinning around to generate an electrical signal that is amplified to correspond with the music.  A deep album cut is any song that was not released as a single, or this could be defined as an obscure song by a well-known musician or group.  When a DJ decides to play an album track that wasn’t labeled or promoted as a hit, that piece of music is called a “deep cut” to signal the fact that it is a lesser-known composition that would not normally be broadcast.  A deep cut won’t be played or performed often by the band and only the truest and most devoted fans will recognize it.  A deep cut is a track that is buried in the huge catalogue of an artist with a long career, or it could be an older song that that they only played before they got famous.  In order to obtain success in the music world, every group or artist needs that hit single.  Streaming music has become all about the singles, but making albums is still crucial for any artist that wants to maintain their listeners.

Last week we had School is Back where the theme was to find songs about Educate, Learn, School, Teach.  This week the theme is to find Underrated Deep Album Cuts suggested by Greg’s Blog.  Take some time to read the posts of other bloggers who respond to this music challenge, and even better, read as many of them as you are able to as you will probably find many enjoyable songs and it is quite possibly that you will learn a thing or two.  Share your music with others and post a video, try do some research and let everyone know something about the song that you post.  Tell everyone why you like the song, whether it was a hit, or what you think the song is about.  Show the lyrics, let’s all listen to our favorite songs and explore some new music.  Try to find a song that fits the theme, then write your post and create a pingback, or you can just place your link in the comments section.

Suggestions
• Try to use the prompt words or at least conform to a general theme, as you see it.  If the song you select does not meet the criteria, then please explain why you chose this song.
It would be good if you could post the lyrics to the song of your choice, as this is helpful for the people that want to follow along with the music.
• Please try to include the songwriter(s) – it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due. It would also be a good idea to give credit to the singer and the band associated with your song.
Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be, but please try not to include too many videos as that just makes it take longer to look at all of the other posts.
• Link to the YouTube video, or you can pull it into your post, so others can listen to the song.
• Ping back to this post or place your link in the comments section below.
• Read at least one other person’s blog, so we can all share new and fantastic music and create amazing new blogging friends in the process.
• Feel free to suggest future prompts.
• Have fun and enjoy the music.

This week I will be writing about the Derek and the Dominos song ‘Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad?’, and next week, I will be writing about the song ‘Layla’ by Derek and the Dominos.  The upcoming prompts will be:
August 28, 2022 – Better with Age: Failed or Overlooked Songs that Eventually Became Fan Favorites suggested by Greg’s Blog
September 4, 2022 – Sounds, Talk, Voice, Words suggested by Di of pensitivity101
September 11, 2022 – Novelty songs suggested by Di of pensitivity101
September 18, 2022 – Australian music

24 thoughts on “Going Deep

  1. One of Queen’s ‘heaviest’ tracks which was originally from Queen 2 but also on a later compilation CD called….. ‘Deep Cuts’. A bespoke collection of hidden gems from the band’s first 5 albums. ‘Deep Cuts 2’ and ‘Deep Cuts 3’ soon followed but the first one is the best of the three compilations by far.

    Ah, ah, ah, ah
    Aaaahhh

    Now, once upon a time, an old man told me a fable
    When the piper is gone and the soup is cold on your table
    And if the black crow flies to find a new destination
    That is the sign

    Come tonight
    Come to the ogre site
    Come to the ogre battle fight

    He gives a great big cry and he can swallow up the ocean
    With a mighty tongue, he catches flies and the palm of his hand incredible size
    One great big eye has to focus in your direction
    Now the battle is on, yeah, yeah, yeah

    Come tonight
    Come to the ogre site
    Come to the ogre battle fight

    Ah, ah, ah, ah, aaahhh
    The ogre men are still inside, the two-way mirror mountain
    You gotta keep down right out of sight
    You can’t see in, but they can see out
    “Ooh, keep a lookout”

    The ogre men are coming out from the two-way mirror mountain
    They’re running up behind, and they’re coming all about
    Can’t go east, ’cause you gotta go south

    Ogre men are going home
    The great big fight is over
    Bugle blow, let trumpet cry
    Ogre battle lives forevermore, oh-oh-oh

    You can come along
    You can come along
    Come to ogre battle

    Ah, ah, ah, ah, aaahhh

    Source: Musixmatch

    Songwriters: Freddie Mercury

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When I get to the bottom
    I go back to the top of the slide
    Where I stop and I turn and I go for a ride
    ‘Til I get to the bottom and I see you again
    Yeah, yeah, yeah, ha-ha-ha!
    Well do you, don’t you want me to love you?
    I’m coming down fast, but I’m miles above you
    Tell me, tell me, tell me, come on tell me the answer
    Well, you may be a lover, but you ain’t no dancer
    Now, helter-skelter
    Helter-skelter
    Helter-skelter
    Yeah
    Ooh!
    Oh will you, won’t you want me to make you? (Ah)
    I’m coming down fast, but don’t let me break you (ah)
    Tell me, tell me, tell me the answer
    Well, you may be a lover, but you ain’t no dancer
    Look out!
    Helter-skelter
    Helter-skelter
    Helter-skelter
    Ooh
    Look out!
    ‘Cause here she comes
    When I get to the bottom
    I go back to the top of the slide
    And I stop, and I turn and I go for a ride
    And I get to the bottom and I see you again
    Yeah, yeah, yeah!
    Well do you, don’t you want me to make you?
    I’m coming down fast, but don’t let me break you
    Tell me, tell me, tell me your answer
    Well, you may be a lover, but you ain’t no dancer
    Look out!
    Helter-skelter
    Helter-skelter
    Helter-skelter
    Well, look out! Helter-skelter
    She’s coming down fast
    Yes, she is
    Yes, she is
    Coming down fast
    Oh yeah, helter-skelter
    Ooh
    I got blisters on my fingers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The term Helter Skelter came from the Beatles song of that name, which referred to the British amusement-park ride of that name that featured built in a slide in a spiral around a high tower, but it was interpreted by Manson as being concerned with this race war.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment