Sickness

Morbid, unhealthy, gloomy, damaged, suffering, wounds, well this is certainly different.  I am thinking that we will probably be served up some painful sadistic and masochistic music this weekend, maybe involving agony, blood, sacrifice, slaughter or torture for the theme of Illness, Injury, and Scars that was suggested.  There is nothing creepier than songs about dismemberment that lead to horrible deaths involving ritual killings, but heavy metal music often includes intense lyrics that are not for the weak, because they can take you to a dark dimension.  Head bangers rock out to wild drumming driven by the aggressive sounds of distorted electric guitars. In order to live in the world, life demands that all men must die.  This is probably going to be a real nightmare, but I hope that we all have a fun time.

Last week we had Never Made It where the theme was to feature a song by a group or an artist that surprisingly never reached #1 on the charts.  This week the theme is a song about Illness, Injury, Scars suggested by Angie of King Ben’s Grandma.  Take some time to read the posts of other bloggers who respond to this music challenge, and even better, read as many of them as you are able to as you will probably find many enjoyable songs and it is quite possibly that you will learn a thing or two.  Share your music with others and post a video, try do some research and let everyone know something about the song that you post.  Tell everyone why you like the song, whether it was a hit, or what you think the song is about.  Show the lyrics, let’s all listen to our favorite songs and explore some new music.  Try to find a song that fits the theme, then write your post and create a pingback, or you can just place your link in the comments section.

Suggestions
• Try to use the prompt words or at least conform to a general theme, as you see it.  If the song you select does not meet the criteria, then please explain why you chose this song.
• It would be good if you could post the lyrics to the song of your choice, as this is helpful for the people that want to follow along with the music.
• Please try to include the songwriter(s) – it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due. It would also be a good idea to give credit to the singer and the band associated with your song.
• Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be, but please try not to include too many videos as that just makes it take longer to look at all of the other posts.
• Link to the YouTube video, or you can pull it into your post, so others can listen to the song.
• Ping back to this post or place your link in the comments section below.
• Read at least one other person’s blog, so we can all share new and fantastic music and create amazing new blogging friends in the process.
• Feel free to suggest future prompts.
• Have fun and enjoy the music.

This week I will be writing about the Garbage song ‘Bleed Like Me’, and next week, I will be writing about the song ‘Man Gave Names to All the Animals’ by Bob Dylan.  The upcoming prompts will be:
August 7, 2022 – Pets, Names, Memories suggested by Di of pensitivity101
August 14, 2022 – Educate, Learn, School, Teach
August 21, 2022 – Underrated Deep Album Cuts suggested by Greg’s Blog
August 28, 2022 – Better with Age: Failed or Overlooked Songs that Eventually Became Fan Favorites suggested by Greg’s Blog

34 thoughts on “Sickness

    1. I also found a pretty good song, but to me Illness, Injury, and Scars are all very grim. I had originally planned on writing about the song ‘Hotel Illness’ by the Black Crowes, but as hard as I tried, I couldn’t decipher what that song was about, so I picked a different one. Thanks for your suggestion for the theme this week, Angie.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. lol – I read your comments Jim. I am not sure if ABBA counts as ” painful sadistic and masochistic music”…but I have been singing the lyrics to Chuiqitita ever since I prepared my post and loving it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Darling Melody, I must inform you that Robert saw your comment and muttered that any person with decent musical tastes would consider ABBA to be painful in every sense of the word. I give you my permission to reply to him as ever you see fit.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I am sorry Annette, but I have no choice but to call Robert out on this one. Was he not dancing to “Does Your Mother Know” at Maudleen’s wedding?…and….we had a conversation about ABBA when we were at The Orangery and I distinctly remember Robert saying that he liked “The Winner Takes It All”. I also remember him saying ABBA were like Marmite – but as we can provided proof that he has either danced to or sung along to ABBA in public, he does not have complete freedom of speech on this subject!

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Please inform Robert that there are others who will testify to these events. As for “superior musical intellect” – how can somebody who does not appreciate Kylie Minogue make a comment like that?

            Like

    2. I was not looking for painful sadistic and masochistic music, but I did feel that the theme this week might bring us a lot of that music. Thanks for reading my post, as most people just ignore my comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dearest Jim, I have to admit that although I read everything you have written in your SLS I rarely respond to them. Sundays are a very full on day for us. I try make sure I pingback during a coffee break, but as I work all day my time for comments is limited. I often feel bad because though I had more time in the past, these days I prioritise on reading the posts of other bloggers and writing a little something of my own. When I do have a spare half hour, it is a pleasure to leave a few comments on the posts of my favourite bloggers.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The less heavy and the more funky side to Rush:

    I’ve stood upon my mountaintop
    And shouted at the sky
    Walked above the pavement with my senses amplified
    I get this feeling

    All my nerves are naked wires tender to the touch
    Sometimes super-sensitive
    But who can care too much?
    I get this feeling

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Each emotional injury
    Leaves behind its mark
    Sometimes they come tumbling out
    Like shadows in the dark
    I get this feeling

    When I think about all I have seen
    And all I’ll never see
    When I think about the people
    Who have opened up to me
    I get this feeling

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Snow falls deep around my house
    And holds the winter light
    I’ve heard the lions hunting
    In the Serengeti night
    I get this feeling

    Forests turned to factories
    And river, sea, and sky
    Hungry child in the desert
    And the flies that cloud her eyes
    I get this feeling

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Pleasure leaves a fingerprint as surely as mortal pain
    In memories they resonate and echo back again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Scars of pleasure
    Scars of pain
    Atmospheric changes
    Make them sensitive again

    Source: LyricFind

    Songwriters: Alex Lifeson / Geddy Lee / Neil Peart

    Scars lyrics © Ole Media Management Lp

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment