Mental Stimulation

Humans are hardwired for purpose, and we constantly have this need to feel like we are a productive member of society, so being an essential member of a community is a natural part of life.  Engaging in creative hobbies and other stimulating activities can reduce the risk of getting dementia and also help to keep your mind sharp.  It is important for older people to keep doing things, as adults who retire early are at greater risk of cognitive decline as they age.  By using your brain, it is thought this will stimulate new connections between nerve cells and this may even help the brain generate new cells, developing neurological “plasticity” and building up a functional reserve that provides a hedge against future cell loss.  Reading, solving word puzzles or doing math problems are considered to be like mental gymnastics for your brain, as well as any other activity that requires mental effort.  I put my brain to work every day on my blog, by challenging my mind with some of the WordPress prompts.

Good quality sleep is important for brain health, and I think that I get more than enough of that.  I should get more exercise as scientists have linked the positive effects of exercise to a protein called brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF), a molecule that protects neurons and is thought to support learning and memory.  I do take the brain health supplement Neuriva, which is supposed to help with Memory, Accuracy, Learning, Focus, Concentration, Reasoning and Mental Alertness.  Physical activity can help you think, learn, problem-solve, and enjoy an emotional balance.  It can improve memory and reduce anxiety or depression.  Scientists have found that exercise promotes neurogenesis, which is the birth of new brain cells.

I read that listening to happy tunes helps generate more innovative solutions compared to being in silence.  I often rely on cranking up some feel-good music to help boost my creative thinking and brain power.  Scientists think that music activates a number of regions in the brain, which can heal the brain by creating new neuropathways around any damaged areas.  Research has also shown that music has potential for making a much deeper impact than we originally realized, as certain vibrations and focused harmonies can create strong reactions on physical, mental, emotional and spiritual levels and the intentional application of this knowledge come to be known as Sound Healing.  Music can provide a sense of connection, support and understanding during difficult times.

Written for Sadje’s Sunday Poser #182 where today she asked, “What do you do to keep your brain active and engaged?  Do you believe that exercising the brain helps keep it active?  And in that case, how do you keep it engaged?”

7 thoughts on “Mental Stimulation

  1. Jim I wonder if writing blogs…as far as researching and such helps it? I did download a crossword puzzle app that I use if I’m somewhere I have to wait on something…
    My mom started to show Alzheimer’s traits when she was like 48…so yea I try to do things like this. Hers though was caused by mini strokes…she was a thin lady but had high blood pressure…luckily I don’t have too high of blood pressure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Jim for sharing this very useful and important information regarding brain health. I didn’t know that listening to music also helps in keeping our brains healthy.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment