Donkey Kong

As the sun dipped below the horizon, the carousel at the long-abandoned amusement park began to spin on its own, beckoning me to step aboard.  The flashing lights immediately attracted my attention along with the calliope music which made me feel nostalgic, like the circus was back in town.  I had my pick of riding a cute pony, a zebra, a unicorn, or a jackass and I chose the donkey, because it made this funny donkey noise and that told me to choose him.  When I got on, the donkey turned its head around and asked me if I had any treats to feed him and when I gave him the turnip that I had in my pocket, he thanked me and said his name was Kong.  Kong told me to hold on tight to his floppy ears, because he was going to kick up a storm to give me an adrenaline filled experience.  I told Kong that I had just ingested some magic mushrooms and that I would rather have a gentle and soothing ride to help me calm down and unwind.  Kong said that he would gladly give me the up and down motion that I was looking for to make me comfortable by keeping it simple and classic.   Kong told me that he did magic mushrooms once as a way to escape from stress and worries of his life constantly spinning around and around, but that made him fall in love with the pony and he saw the zebra change its stripes to spots, while the unicorn was constantly farting rainbows and all of the up and down motion ruined the moment.

Written for Fandango’s Story Starter #155.

17 thoughts on “Donkey Kong

    1. In California, San Francisco, Oakland and Santa Cruz have effectively decriminalized possession of psychedelic mushrooms, meaning a person cannot be arrested or prosecuted for possessing limited amounts of plant-based hallucinogens.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment