All Aboard

I am sitting here in the railroad station, I got my ticket for my destination.  I have a one-track mind, so I pictured myself on a train in a station and when I heard that lonesome whistle blow, I went to the depot, sat my suitcase down and waited for the evening train to arrive.  The conductor said this train needs to run on time, so we will be pulling out in the next 30 seconds, and then we will keep rolling down the track.  Up ahead you will see Johnny sitting in the shade strumming with the rhythm that the railroad cars have made.  The diesel will be drumming all down the line, as we keep the motor running when the whistle blows.  The train is leaving town and I’m not sure where it is bound, but keep blowing that whistle and carry me further on down the track.  Clickety-clack rolling down the track, have my dinner in the diner, nothing could be finer, and then have my ham and eggs in Carolina.  I wish I was a headlight, on a north bound train, cause I’d shine my light through cool Colorado rain and let the Midnight Special shine a light on me.

I might take a train to Kansas City, yes Kansas City here I come, or I may end up busted flat in Baton Rouge, waiting for a train.  The train I ride, is fifteen coaches long and this train’s got to run today.  Listen to the whistle of the evening train and when that train rolls in, you won’t know where it’s been.  My baby told me to take the last train to Clarksville and she would meet me at the station, but I don’t know if I’m ever coming home.  Oh please believe me, I’d hate to miss the train, oh yeah, oh yeah, and if you leave me I won’t be late again.  My baby said she’s traveling on the one after 909, I said move over honey I’m traveling on that line.  She’s got a ticket to ride, but she don’t care.  The train kept a rollin’ all night long, I’m leaving and I won’t be coming back.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Sunday Writing Prompt “Train Ticket”.

14 thoughts on “All Aboard

Leave a comment