Which Song Should I Do?

I tried asking these guys for help last night, but the bartender cut me off and told me that I was trying to communicate with Patio Umbrellas.

I have this theme going with songs having girl’s names in the title, as I have done Elenore by the Turtles on Monday and Valleri by the Monkees yesterday. I figure that I won’t do Lola by the Kinks, as she is really a guy and I have already done Althea by the Grateful Dead, Jenny by Tommy Tutone, Suite Judy Blue Eyes by Crosby, Stills & Nash, Along Comes Mary by The Association, Mony Mony by Tommy James and Sharona by the Knack,.  I am doing Oh! Carol! by Neil Sedaka today and I am thinking about some of these songs: Aimee by Pure Prairie League, Amanda by Waylon Jennings, Angie by the Rolling Stones, Angie Baby by Helen Reddy, Barbara Ann by the Beach Boys, Bernadette by Four Tops, Bertha by Grateful Dead, Billie Jean by Michael Jackson, Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl) by Looking Glass, Build Me Up Buttercup by The Foundations, Candy-O by The Cars, Sweet Caroline by Neil Diamond, Cecilia by Simon & Garfunkel, My Cherie Amour by Stevie Wonder, Denise by Randy & The Rainbows, Diamond Lil by David Bromberg, Diana by Paul Anka, Donna by Ritchie Valens, Come on Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners, Elvira by The Oak Ridge Boys, See Emily Play by Pink Floyd, Fanny (Be Tender with My Love) by Bee Gees, Gloria by Van Morrison, Jamie’s Cryin’ by Van Halen, Sweet Jane by Velvet Underground, Jennifer Juniper by Donovan, Jessica by Allman Brothers, Josie by Steely Dan, Layla by Derek and the Dominos, Lucille by Little Richard, Maggie May by Rod Stewart, Maggie’s Farm by Bob Dylan, Mandy by Barry Manilow, Take a Letter Maria by R. B. Greaves, Mary Ann by Link Wray, Mary Lou by Buddy Knox, Loose Lucy by Grateful Dead, The Wind Cries Mary by Jimi Hendrix and the Experience, Waltzing Matilda by the Seekers, Melissa by the Allman Brothers, Michelle by the Beatles, Nadine by Chuck Berry, Ophelia by The Band, Peggy Sue by Buddy Holly, Rhiannon by Fleetwood Mac, Rikki, Don’t Lose That Number by Steely Dan, Help Me, Rhonda by The Beach Boys, Lovely Rita by The Beatles, Rosalie by The Searchers, Rosanna by Toto, Rosalita, Come Out Tonight by Bruce Springsteen, Smile a Little Smile For Me, Rose Marie by Flying Machine, Love Grows Where My Rosemary Goes by Edison Lighthouse, Roxanne by the Police, Ruby (Don’t Take Your Love to Town) by Kenny Rogers, My Sweet Ruby Rose by Gary ‘U.S.’ Bonds, Sexy Sadie by The Beatles, Lay Down, Sally by Eric Clapton, Long Tall Sally Rose by Emmylou Harris, Mustang Sally by Wilson Pickett, Sheena is a Punk Rocker by The Ramones, Sheila by Tommy Roe, Sherry by Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons, Stella Blue by Grateful Dead, Runaround Sue by Dion & The Belmonts, Sorry Suzanne by The Hollies, Wake Up Little Susie by The Everly Brothers, Suzie Q by Creedence Clearwater Revival, Suzy Creamcheese by Frank Zappa, Sylvia’s Mother by Dr. Hook, Venus by Shocking Blue, Victoria by The Kinks, Kinda Fonda Wanda by Neil Young and Wendy by Beach Boys.

If you have any suggestions, I would be glad to hear them.

Written for Linda G. Hill Life in progress One-Liner Wednesday – October 17 prompt is Words of Wisdom.

20 thoughts on “Which Song Should I Do?

  1. I’m voting, Jim. Do either Candy-O by The Cars — who I know hardly anything about except that they were a “new” thing when I was in high school — or Maggie’s Farm by Dylan (except I’d like a nod to Rage Against the Machine, too). [Roxanne maybe would be good as part of a drummers study if you’re going to do that sometime… along with Rush and Tool and others?]

    Rhiannon was a favorite of mine, but I know more about them/her (Stevie).

    Lots of choices; I could pick a few more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment