A Dreamer

Lemurs are primates that spend most of their time in the trees eating fruit, leaves, buds, insects, small birds and birds’ eggs, but this leaping lemur princess had higher ambitions and she always wanted to show off her aerial maneuvers, because she figured that she could become the next Simone Biles.  She climbed on these ropes and then did a leap with her back toward the landing target.  She was able to reorient herself in midair, and always landed on her feet, even when she threw in a twist with a partial backward somersault.  I parked my BMW in my driveway and the lemur loved climbing all over my beamer.  I tried to keep her off, but she always found a way to get what she wanted, because this lemur was a real schemer.  I got really mad and cursed at her, becoming a blasphemer, before I threw my juice reamer at her which turned her into a screamer.  I have never been a mainstreamer, but I do know that the longest, strongest, and heaviest bone in the human body is the femur, however I can’t drink my coffee without creamer.

Written for Melissa’s Flash Fiction Challenge #271.

16 thoughts on “A Dreamer

  1. You had me laughing after the pivot to rhyming midway through. It was unexpected and funny. Especially “the lemur loved climbing all over my beamer.  I tried to keep her off, but … this lemur was a real schemer.”

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.