Thursday Inspiration #225 Sexy Eyes

Respond to this challenge, by either using the prompt word alone, or going with the above picture, or by means of the song ‘Sexy Eyes’, or by going with another song by Dr. Hook, or with anything else that you think fits.  ‘Sexy Eyes’ was written by Bob Mather, Chris Waters, Keith Stegal and the single reached #5 on the Billboard Hot 100.  It was released on their 1979 eighth studio album Sometimes You Win.  In 1975, Dr. Hook & The Medicine Show shortened their name to Dr. Hook.  Drummer and founding member, Ray Sawyer lost his right eye in a car accident in 1967, and after that he wore an eyepatch which made him resemble the Peter Pan villain Captain Hook, which served as the inspiration for the name of this group.  This song has a simple premise where a guy goes out to a nightclub alone and he is watching people dance, when he spots this sultry and seductive woman with mesmerizing eyes.  The woman’s beauty has left him completely powerless, and he knows that he can’t resist her, as he has become completely lost in awe of her charm.  This woman and the music both have this mysterious hold over him, but he sums up the courage to take her hand so they could dance together.  And just like that, they fall in love and he knows that he won’t have to be lonely anymore.  It is amazing the power that physical attraction can have over a person leaving them powerless to resist.

Ray Sawyer was dissatisfied with their newly commercial direction that the group was taking, and he was replaced as the drummer by John Wolters on their 1982 next album Players In The Dark and in 1983 he began to pursue a solo career.  Lead singer Denise Locorriere trademarked the name Dr. Hook and when Sawer returned to the group in 1988, he was granted a license to perform as Dr Hook featuring Ray Sawyer, and he toured until 2015.  Sawyer died in Daytona Beach, Florida on December 28, 2018, at the age of 81.

I wish that I would have had more courage to ask girls to dance with me when I was younger.  This is a good way of letting them know that you are interested in them, and it is less awkward than asking them out on a date.  If I had only known it was that simple just saying, “Would you like to dance?”, instead of just watching from the sidelines being nervous and worried that I would be rejected.  I had no style and no dance moves, which gave me no confidence, so I just hung out with my friends instead of asking any girls to dance.  I wish I could have a do over for that part of my life.

I was sitting all alone, watching people getting off, with each other
They were dancing ‘cross the floor, turning movement back and forth, they were lovers
One more lonely night for me, I looked up what did I see

14 thoughts on “Thursday Inspiration #225 Sexy Eyes

    1. I wrote a post about Sylvia’s Mother and in that song, they sing, “And the operator says 40 cents more for the next three minutes” and people would throw change up on the stage at them, which I thought was funny.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. They were a fun band to listen to.
    Yea if I could be young again right now…I’d ask girls out left and right…I wouldn’t care about rejection now.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.