A Walk in the Woods

Ted and Carol were walking on a trail through the woods and Carol exclaimed, “It is such a beautiful day, we should do this more often.”  Ted said, “Yea school is out, and it’s time to get down, get sunburned and get lucky.”  Carol said, “Not likely to happen, but you can keep dreaming.  Can you smell that sweet jasmine blowing through the trees?”  Ted said, “Yes I can, Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.”  Carol said, “You are so cute, but still there is no chance that you are getting lucky.”  Ted started singing, “Sweet days of summer, the jasmine’s in bloom July is dressed up and playing her tune And I come home from a hard day’s work And you’re waiting there, not a care in the world.”  Carol said, “I don’t think so, as I don’t want to be anyone’s wife.  I am happy with my life just the way it is, I am happy that it’s summer, and happy that I can go home to my own house.”

Ted said, “Well I want a normal life filled with simple things.  I want to see the curtains hangin’ in the window, in the evenin’ on a Friday night.  I want to look at a little light a-shinin’ through the window, that lets me know everything is alright.  I want to see the paper layin’ in the sidewalk, and hear a little music from the house next door.  I want to walk on up to the doorstep, through the screen and across the floor to see the smile a-waitin’ in the kitchen, food cookin’ and the plates for two and best of all feel the arms that reach out to hold me, in the evening when the day is through.”  Carol put her arms around Ted and kissed him.

Written for Sue Vincent’s August 2, 2018 Thursday photo prompt.

11 thoughts on “A Walk in the Woods

Leave a comment