Getting Critical

SNAFU is an acronym that stands for the sarcastic expression, ‘Situation Normal, All Fucked Up’, while the other military term FUBAR stands for, ‘Fucked Up Beyond All Recognition’ and this is used for situations that are much worse.  When it reaches FUBAR status, you may have to burn it to the ground and start over from scratch, because it is totally destroyed.  In 2011, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) replaced the color-coded alerts of the Homeland Security Advisory System (HSAS) with the National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS), designed to more effectively communicate information about terrorist threats by providing timely, detailed information to the American public.

North Korea’s latest missile launch early Tuesday August 29th wreaked just enough havoc from that maniac Kim Jong Un to show the world that he will not be told what to do by anyone, but it was not enough to invite the “fire and fury” promised by the American President.  The missile appeared to be a Hwasong-12, the intermediate-range ballistic missile that North Korea has been threatening to shoot into the waters near the U.S. territory of Guam.  Instead of aiming it at Guam, North Korea lobbed the missile in a northeasterly direction over Japan and into the Pacific Ocean.

Tensions between North Korea and the United States are reaching almost a fever pitch, with new threats coming out every day.  There have been no military movements of concern at this time, and there does not appear to be any sign of an impending attack by either side.  However, each side is taking the threats made by the other very seriously, and both the United States and North Korea are currently on the defensive, with North Korea expecting some kind of action from us.  Our current DEFense readiness CONdition code is Blue at DEFCON 4.

Defense readiness conditions (DEFCONs) describe progressive alert postures primarily for use between the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the commanders of unified commands.  DEFCONs are graduated to match situations of varying military severity, and are numbered 5,4,3,2, and 1 as appropriate.  DEFCONs are phased increases in combat readiness.  In general terms, these are descriptions of DEFCONs:
DEFCON 5 Normal peacetime readiness
DEFCON 4 Normal, increased intelligence and strengthened security measures
DEFCON 3 Increase in force readiness above normal readiness
DEFCON 2 Further Increase in force readiness, but less than maximum readiness
DEFCON 1 Maximum force readiness.

In the UK they also have five threat levels similar to ours, which are designed to give a broad indication of the likelihood of a terrorist attack.
LOW means an attack is unlikely.
MODERATE means an attack is possible, but not likely
SUBSTANTIAL means an attack is a strong possibility
SEVERE means an attack is highly likely
CRITICAL means an attack is expected imminently

7 thoughts on “Getting Critical

    1. No hurricane Harvey turned East and Oregon is on the West Coast. I have not seen her post anything lately, but with all the unpacking and getting her children ready for new schools I am sure that she is very busy. You should write to her as I am sure that she would love to hear from you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s