For All the Tea in China

As I traveled on the seven seas
I had the chance to taste many teas
Some of these made me sneeze
While others made me wheeze
Some tea’s were cooling
Others gave me a schooling
It is a simple drink to make
It can be enjoyed with cake
Put the tea bag in hot water and let it linger
Always use a spoon to stir it, not your finger
People look silly when they hold their tea cup and stick out their pinky
Tea always goes better with a snack which could be even just a Twinkie
There are so many types and so much to taste
Adding peyote to tea will really get you spaced
That mighty leaf called tea is a regular part of life
You can drink it alone or have a cup with your wife
A rich sensory-infused taste, has become a blend of familiarity
It holds the simple and plain quality which is termed austerity
The depth, subtle flavors or aroma combinations
Always seems to meet all of my expectations

9 thoughts on “For All the Tea in China

    1. I drink tea every day. I had no idea how to go with this, should I write about how tea was discovered or possibly the Boston Tea Party, but then I got that first line of this poem and the rest went down like a refreshing drink.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Now I will have that Beatles song stuck in my head. ‘There’s nothing you can do that can’t be done Nothing you can sing that can’t be sung Nothing you can say, but you can learn how to play the game It’s easy!’

        Liked by 1 person

  1. At times I felt as if I was reading a Dr. Seuss rhyme. This was quite witty and very well executed. And now I have an uncontrollable urge to run out to my local convenience store for some Twinkies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks that is quite an honor to be compared with Dr. Seuss and I actually bought some Twinkies the other day, but not the regular ones, these were chocolate and at one time I heard that they would be discontinued.

      Like

Leave a Reply

