Dancing Through Life

Hearing the Daily Prompt Word of the Day being ‘Jangle’ it made me think of that old song Mr. Bojangles. It was recorded by many different groups, but I always enjoyed the Bob Dylan version the best.  This song is sad and happy, it is about a different era and it is repetitive.  It is not about black or white, although many people relate Mr. Bojangles with being black and this stems from the Shirley Temple movie ‘Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm’, where a character had this name.  Mr. Bojangles is also a love song about a traveling dancer who loved his dog.  A guy who was arrested, psssibly for being drunk hears a tale about one of his cell mates concerning his dog that is gone and that he is still crying 20 years later over this loss.  My dog died in 2012 and I still miss her.

 

I knew a man, Bojangles and he danced for you
In worn out shoes
Silver hair, a ragged shirt and baggy pants
The old soft shoe
He jumped so high
He jumped so high
Then he’d lightly touch down
I met him in a cell in New Orleans,
I was Down and out
He looked to me to be the eyes of age
As he spoke right out
He talked of life
He talked of life
He laughed, clicked his heels and stepped
He said his name, Bojangles and he danced a lick
Across the cell
He grabbed his pants, a better stance
Oh, he jumped so high
Then he clicked his heels
He let go a laugh
He let go a laugh
Pushed back his clothes all around
Mr. Bojangles
Mr. Bojangles
Mr. Bojangles
Dance
He danced for those in minstrel shows and county fairs
Throughout the south
He spoke with tears of fifteen years how his dog and him
Traveled about
The dog up and died
He up and died
After twenty years he still grieves
He said I dance now at every chance in honky tonks
For drinks and tips
But most the time I spend behind these county bars
He said I drinks a bit
He shook his head
And as he shook his head
I heard someone ask him please
Please
Mr. Bojangles
Mr. Bojangles
Mr. Bojangles
Dance

13 thoughts on “Dancing Through Life

      1. It is odd how our lives can change because of a specific event and you can be happy and dancing and then you are an old drunk homeless vagrant stuck in a jail cell, dancing to cheer up the other inmates.

        Like

      2. I am not familiar with that story, but in his youth, Buddha cut his hair, shaved his beard and started wearing a yellow robe. Then he went out to seek wisdom, looking for the laws of God to show him a vision, he brought along his pure heart which helped him to understand, and after some trials and tribulations, he came at last to the truth. Buddha was not born with the knowledge of the Four Noble Truths in him, so had to go on an adventure to discover this. He vowed to remain homeless and sought the highest understanding, and eventually he found his way to peace.

        Like

      3. I know the story, because i read it myself. There is a really special part of Buddha meeting Maya(illusion). Sometimes it feels like the Matrix story

        Like

  1. I also thought of that song when I responded to this prompt, but I mistakenly thought Dylan wrote it. Jerry Jeff Walker actually composed the song, but I also liked the Dylan version, as well as the version by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a real old song and it is from 1968, so it was before Woodstock. I don’t really know that many songs by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, but I do like Catfish John. I have also heard the Sammy Davis Jr. version of Mr. Bojangles and that is OK.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

