Sailing

Early humans learned to travel on water before the invention of wheel.  One day a man tied some logs together to make the first raft and this invention allowed man to travel on water.  The humans that lived close to rivers noticed that wooden logs floated on water, and this gave them the idea for traveling on water, and eventually the dugout boat was invented.  Once man understood the principle of a watertight hull, animal hides or the bark of trees were attached to a framework of bamboo or wicker to make simple, small, lightweight boats.  The primitive boat builder learned how to add planks to raise the edges of the original dugout canoes, and wooden struts were put in to hold them in place.

Before the sail was invented people used their hands to paddle along in their tiny boats and eventually they devised pushing poles to move their rafts along the rivers.  Man eventually redesigned the poles by flattening them and widening it at one end, and now we had the paddle which could be used in deeper waters.  This was again ingeniously transformed to become the oar-a-paddle that is fixed on the sides of boats.

A sail is a piece of material extended on a mast to catch the wind and sailing involves ships traveling on water and this is accomplished by using wind power blowing through the ship’s sails in order to drive the boat forward.  Sails became a great turning point in maritime history, because it was more difficult to paddle upstream it was found that sails could be used to replace the action of human muscles and this allowed sail boats to embark on longer trips and carry heavier loads.

The Nile river had inherent characteristics that worked out great for boating.  The boats that were traveling north, were propelled by the current going into the Mediterranean Sea.  When the ships traveled south, they generally had the wind blowing in their direction and this is when they would use their sail. Oars were useful when traveling in either direction to gain more speed.  The first sailing vessels were developed by the Egyptians and they used square sails which are best suited for sailing down wind.  The first sailing boats were used on the Nile River and they were simple, square-rigged reed ships that featured a single square papyrus sail which was attached to a mast in the middle of the boat.

45 thoughts on “Sailing

  1. It is funny how, many people ignore developments.. For them.. It is just there.. No curiosity.. None whatsoever.. I was just reading about mining and thought wait a minute.. Ochre.. I completely forgot about it.. And than i read your post.. And thought well i know that but i didn’t know about the upstream part.. Again completely ignorant.. Thanks for reminding me.. A great post.. And do hope the sail on your publishing adventure are still strong.. You sir get a like. By the way please i beg you remove the static blog page on your home screen by going to the Dashboard and change it to latest posts.. Please..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My first book, however it is still unpublished is titled ‘Man’s Footprint in Water’, and I draw on that from time to time for ideas in the Daily Prompt. It is a history book that starts out with the beginning of time and it deals with significant accomplishments made by man concerning our understanding of water, or our use of water. Thanks again as you are really giving me so much help. Ok I guess I figured that out as I went to Appearance and then I selected Customize. From there I went to Static Front Page and I changed my Front page display to be my latest posts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I could see it now. All your posts.. It was Sandi(flip flop blog) whose comments made me realised that you had this problem.. So you got to thank her.. And why it is still unpublished.. The book i mean.?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am again sorry to barge in like this but can you do just one thing for me. Go to your Dashboard.. You can log in with adding wp-admin after your site name. Go to the Settings and select Reading. Is the latest post option is selected here also or not? If not than change it to latest post..

        Like

      3. Yep it is set to show my latest posts. It is different as most of the people that make comments on my posts sit around waiting for me to APROVE them but your comments don’t seem to need my approval. I am real happy that you have been giving me so much of your time trying to help me.

        Like

      4. What is your theme? The reason i am asking is your site name and tag line are not appearing on the posts you have liked. It must be the theme that is the likely culprit.

        Like

      5. I joined WordPress on April 22nd of this year in order to promote my new book. I basically had no idea what WordPress was all about when I signed up and I selected https://jimadamsauthordotcom.wordpress.com/ as my site name and I guess this was a mistake, because my site name always shows up as Site Title which is really stupid. I wish my site name would display ‘newepicauthor’ instead of Site Title. I really enjoy writing and I write every day. Another thing that I did was I joined Bluehost and I never used that because I actually have no idea what it is all about.

        Like

      6. You remember the wp-admin advice i gave you above do it again and go to the Settings again.. Click General and now change your site title to any thing you want. Save changes. My worries are different it seems that the reader is loading your old static page instead of the new one.. Go to the Support Community and tell them of the problem. I am a newbie here. I also am learning. But I will try to help you in any way I can.

        Like

      7. I think that it is finally making sense to me, as I just changed my site title from being Site Title to this, ‘A Unique Title For Me’. I guess that your site name is Journey although I usually see all of your comments referring to Sight11, so my comments will still refer to newepicauthor. I am not sure how to contact the Support Community, but I am sure that your advice fixed this problem.

        Like

  2. I wrote ‘Man’s Footprint in Water’ as a coffee table book thinking that anyone could open it up to any page and start reading short stories. It does not have any pictures in it yet, so it really can not be a coffee table book. I think that water is one of the most beautiful things on Earth and bodies of water like ponds, lakes and oceans are fascinating as is snow, rain, hail, fog, clouds and rainbows. Some of my stories still need some work, but without the pictures and a publisher this book will probably just remain in my computer. I use it for games with my students as I ask them to name a person from history and more times than not I am able to tell them a water story concerning that person.

    Like

    1. Oh, OK sound like fun.Actually no its a great book. One more thing i am asking you.. No i am begging you.. Always while commenting on your own post click on the reply button first and than write and post the comment.. Because what happen is if it is not published as a reply.. I will not get the notification.. Imagine if i have not come to the comment screen now.. Your comment would have remain unnoticed..Never.. Please never do it again.. Good day to you..

      Like

      1. I usually do hit the reply button, but the post that you sent to me did not feature this REPLY button and I was unsure if you would get my answer or not, It was kind of out of my control, however it did have the LIKE button and I clicked that hoping it would draw your attention. Do you have any suggestions on how I could go about thanking Sandi (flip flop) for the help she offered in Customizing the Appearance on my Static Front Page and changing it to be my latest posts. Is it appropriate for me to email her or if you don’t mind and if you are in contact with her would you mind passing along my thanks to her.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No need to be so formal. Just drop on her latest post and say Hi.I am not in touch with her. It was the hot dog post. I guess you didn’t read her reply. She said she visited your post but could not find the latest post.
        P. S. I am like you a loner (with an introvert personality). And by the way you write you are and should be an Academic Writer.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Your assumption was correct as I never got a notice that she responded to her post. I just replied back to ‘The Ultimate Wiener Dude’ and I thanked her. I was an Electrical Engineer until I recently retired and during that time I did a lot of technical writing that required me to do a lot of research in order to become the Subject Matter Expert on many machines and industrial processes.

        Like

  3. I got your problem figured out and I am 100% certain my assumptions are correct. Basically you are carrying two domains one is the one you mentioned other is https://jimadamsauthorcom.wordpress.com
    You go to the dashboard again. Click My Site, Domains. Either delete this site that i mention which is showing just one post or make the original site the one with the dot as you linked in the comment section above as your primary domain. Remember to do it today. It is causing you trouble. All right. Remember do not accidently delete this site if you do that all will be lost..

    Like

    1. There was only one domain listed and that is jimadamsauthordotcom.wordpress.com and that is selected as my primary domain. Now if I select edit site address, I get another screen that says I have 3 other Blog Names all called Site Title along with the new one I just made today called A Unique Title For Me. To better explain this I will refer to them as Site Title 1, Site Title 2 and Site Title 3. All four of these sites are listed as being VISABLE on the Dashboard. Site Title 1 is jimadamsauthor.wordpress.com, Site Title 2 is jimadamsauthoccom.wordpress.com and Site Title 3 is jim33adams.wordpress.com and I don’t really need these three sites except I may have some stuff linked to Site Title 2 https://jimadamsauthorcom.wordpress.com/. The one that has most of my posts is A Unique Title For Me being that ridiculously long name of jimadamsauthordotcontwocdpress.com That Site Title 2 may be corrupt as my first blog which was a poem about my dog is a bit wacky as when people make comments on that post and I go there to see them nothing ever shows up. When I click the link that is supposed to take me to that page it brings me to an OLD About Me page. I have not deleted any of these sites yet, and I don’t think that I need to delete Site Title 1 or Site Title 3, as they are totally blank so I am sure that they are not causing any problems. I guess I should do something about Site Title 2 and the Walking Gale poem. This illustrates what happens when you start doing things without having the proper training.

      Like

      1. The problem is you are commenting from the second site as I have mentioned. Your current site also have this post. But what happens is that when you visit a page, give it a like or comment on it. The user may wanna check your site by clicking your name. Instead he is redirected to the second site and thus unable to read your blogs and posts. So either change the primary site to this by editing url of site 2 or import or delete it choice is yours.. But I think you have to make a decision yourself. Sorry I could not help you the way you wanted. Guess I am a failure now..

        Like

    2. There was only one domain listed and that is jimadamsauthordotcom.wordpress.com and that is selected as my primary domain. Now if I select edit site address, I get another screen that says I have 3 other Blog Names all called Site Title along with the new one I just made today called A Unique Title For Me. To better explain this I will refer to them as Site Title 1, Site Title 2 and Site Title 3. All four of these sites are listed as being VISABLE on the Dashboard. Site Title 1 is jimadamsauthor.wordpress.com, Site Title 2 is jimadamsauthoccom.wordpress.com and Site Title 3 is jim33adams.wordpress.com and I don’t really need these three sites except I may have some stuff linked to Site Title 2 https://jimadamsauthorcom.wordpress.com/. The one that has most of my posts is A Unique Title For Me being that ridiculously long name of jimadamsauthordotcontwocdpress.com That Site Title 2 may be corrupt as my first blog which was a poem about my dog is a bit wacky as when people make comments on that post and I go there to see them nothing ever shows up. When I click the link that is supposed to take me to that page it brings me to an OLD About Me page. I have not deleted any of these sites yet, and I don’t think that I need to delete Site Title 1 or Site Title 3, as they are totally blank so I am sure that they are not causing any problems. I guess I should do something about Site Title 2 and the Walking Gale poem. This illustrates what happens when you start doing things without having the proper training.

      Like

  4. OK.. I think i found a solution for you hope this help.. Log in with wp-admin as i told you before click on users.. Go to the Account setting and change the url.. To this site.. Got it..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. No sorry click personal settings.. Under Users tab and than scrolling all the way down change the url to this site.. And change the name if you want.. OK hope this helps..

    Like

    1. Ok I went to Users and then to Personal Settings. I scrolled all the way down to Account Details and there I saw a blank bow for Website and beside this it says: Automatically linked when you make comments. I put my newly created A Unique Title For Me link which is for jimadamsauthordotcontwocdpress.com in that box and then I Saved My Changes. Thanks again for all of your persistence with this issue.

      Like

    2. Ok I went to Users and then to Personal Settings. I scrolled all the way down to Account Details and there I saw a blank bow for Website and beside this it says: Automatically linked when you make comments. I put my newly created A Unique Title For Me link which is for jimadamsauthordotcontwocdpress.com in that box and then I Saved My Changes. Thanks again for all of your persistence with this issue.

      Like

      1. Don’t put the link, copy paste the site address from the url. Or from your above comment with https. It does not matter if you put a link from A Unique Title.. That link will always be sending user to the wrong site. Just write or copy paste from the blog url. Or from the url you mentioned above the first one this one https://jimadamsauthordotcom.wordpress.com ok

        Like

  6. Also when you complete the above step properly copy and paste the above address in profile, account settings also.. Its a minute work,Jim. Like the last time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am sorry that it took me so long to get back to you and also I guess that your name is Pandit and that I should start calling you that instead of Sight11 or Journey since you started calling me Jim. I was a little bit busy balancing my checkbook, making out some bills and going shopping, but now that is done and I wanted to give you an update. The corrupted site is still active but all my posts have been removed from it, so all those problems should be over as I do not think that anyone will ever contact me on that Site Title 2 ever again.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, call me by name Sight. It is my pen name.
        And no it is not my name.. It is a Sanskrit and Arabic word with two different meanings, first is ‘fence’ other is ‘a learned man, a thinker’. So call me Sight. OK. What you did was that when you posted the link it was corrupted and so tje changes are permanent. Just copy the link i have given in the above comment and do the wp-admin and Users, Personal settings all the way down to Account details and on website paste the link.. Save it.. You can change your user name here also. After that go to your Profile, Account Setting and on the URL paste the same link. Make sure you read the site correctly after pasting it and then save it.. Done and Dusted..

        Like

      2. Sight I just finished following all of your instructions. I like your moniker of a learned man sitting on a fence, not knowing which way to lean till he soaks up all the information and hears all the arguments. It reminds me of why Isaac Newton invented calculus, not knowing if he should side with Aristotle or go with Kepler and his new theory about planets being in elliptical orbits.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I am still waiting.. Just write anything.. We are just checking if your changes are working correctly on other people website if you leave a comment or a like.. And no your post are not removed from Site 2 i checked..

    Like

      1. Well the comment section is fixed. The like is creating problem. From notification panel your like is sending me to the correct site but from the actual post the old site link is appearing. But that is an easy fix. Just go to your gravatar setting and paste the same link that you paste in user profile. You know the url one i mention in the comment above. And also you can change your photo in there. I like the one with glasses..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. From my Gravatar, I went to My Profile and then I went to Profile Links and I added the URL, this is so crazy, but it was an easy fix like you said. I think that with all of your help I finally have it. I will make another comment on your Magnet post ‘Struggle’ from June 29th of last week and this will be another test.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well now the new site is there but the old site is still showing.. Hmm.. Let me see if i can hide it without deleting it.. It is strange the notification panel is directing to the correct site, the comment section is directing to the new site, but the like is directing to both sites when access through browser..

        Like

  8. OK i figure there are two solutions. It is the gravatar that is creating trouble. Basically you have to log into the gravatar profile through wordpress and than in Hovercard change your site settings to this new site. Or you can go to support page and they will move your site 2 blog to a new account. Choice is yours. It os strange however that you can’t do it through dashboard.. Wp-admin stuff.. You know..

    Like

    1. Jim is fine. I need to apologize for my stupidity and I tried that Gravatar Hovercard thing and I was not able to change any of the settings there and I actually have no idea how to go to the support page and have them move my site 2 blog to a new account. I feel so helpless and your instructions seem very clear. I am not sure if I want to invest any more time looking into this issue at this point as I think that getting my book properly formatted is much more important.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Know it is not like the problem was not solved. In fact it is.. Right.. Notification panel and comments and like access are working just fine.. Don’t worry Jim.. I will see if support page will list your help through me.. And i just want to say it loud and clear, “You are anything, but stupid”. There I said it.. Now keep me informed on the book..You are an Academician so.. You are by default a cut above the rest of us..

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

