No Need To Dash Off

My book cover was completed yesterday and this was the last step in the process, or so I thought.  Yippee, I was all set to publish my new book, however that may not be happening now.  I put my trailer up on YouTube (My YouTube Trailer) to generate interest and I started to download my book to Amazon, so I could sell it as an EBook.  I did a preview after this and my Table of Contents was a total mess and also the Headers, Footers and Page Numbering that I worked so hard on was all lost.  I ended up stopping the process, because I don’t want my name associated with such a mess.

I wrote my book description following a magic formula, which required me to give my readers what they need, and I hoped that this would result in more page views for me.  It was not easy to tell my readers what my story is about, since it is a rather long book it covers a lot of topics and it is about many things.  It is basically an adventure filled with wonderful stories.  The stories are told by my characters and they start out in the beginning and continue all the way to the last page.  One person tells a story and then another person tells a different story.  The premise or plot of my book concerns my main character Eli, who is a step cousin of Jesus and he was working in Rome when Jesus performed all of His miracles.  Eli comes back home and hears all the stories.  He gets engaged and married and then he goes back to Rome on his honeymoon.

I guess my new book is on hold for the moment, so you don’t have to dash out and get it.  Maybe it is not meant to be an EBook, but I had gotten so many rejections from all the publishers that I contacted that I felt the only choice I had left was self publishing.  Self publishing an Ebook basically has no cost, where as self publishing a regular book would require me to pay all the publishing costs.  My book is a bit quirky and it is possible that the world is not ready for it yet.  All writers learn how to deal with disappointments, but I am happy with my book cover and it is shown below.

13 thoughts on “No Need To Dash Off

  1. Don’t give up.. I think and I may be wrong.. Is that you had a .Doc document.. And when you uploaded it to Amazon it got converted to Mobi.. Make the changes in the Mobi and than upload it. It should.. In theory remain the same.. Try it..

    Like

    1. Thanks for your suggestion. I am not familiar with Mobi. Amazon allows you to download MS Word, PDF or Kindle Package ,kpf. I got the Kindle Textbook Creator and my book looks real good on that but that only creates a .kcb file. There is a drop down menu that can be selected that says Package For Publishing and that will create the .kpf file, but it only gives me an error when I try to do that.

      Like

      1. But you are converting it first by clicking the Package icon in the top right or the Package link in the right pane.. Right.. If not than try to do that..

        Like

      2. I am a bit confused, but because of your concern and all the other professional writers that are trying to help me, I will keep at it,

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah, all that hard work should be for nothing…I mean you invested heavily in it.. Now you have to see it through.. Have a good day and take care..

        Like

    2. Thanks for your suggestion. I am not familiar with Mobi. Amazon allows you to download MS Word, PDF or Kindle Package ,kpf. I got the Kindle Textbook Creator and my book looks real good on that but that only creates a .kcb file. There is a drop down menu that can be selected that says Package For Publishing and that will create the .kpf file, but it only gives me an error when I try to do that.

      Like

  2. To fix the problem: [back up your mss doc] open your doc and ‘save as’ Word 97-2003 doc (not dot), then click on ‘insert’ then ‘bookmarks’ (if the display is empty when the hidden bookmarks is checked and name is checked, then check the location). the list of ‘stuff’ here is what’s messing up your conversion. You need to know what is required for your doc, and what is not – and get rid of every entry that is NOT req’d.
    First things first, have a backup, and if that stuff hits the fan, go back to the backup, do another copy, and start again.
    This is a process I go through each and every time I prepare for e-pub, and it’s tedious, and boring, and repetitious, but if not done, no one will read your book because they won’t be able to.
    Good luck.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your sincere concern. I have never used bookmarks before and I will have to learn them if they are what I need to fix my problem. I always save a backup as I learned to do that after the Russians gave me that Trojan Ransom virus which encrypted all of my files. I will keep at it till I get this resolved. I am so happy that there are so many other authors her that are trying to help me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

