Traveling Thief

Wagon wheels keep on turning, while the sky above is blue.
I am on my way to Rome, and I plan to see something new.
God please keep my wheels turning down this road of dust and sand.
Help me Lord as I travel down this road, singing along with the band.
I need help from my friends with the songs that I sing.
Only God knows for sure, what tomorrow will bring.
The first time I traveled out in the rain and snow.
I did not have any money or even any place to go.
I’m going to where the water tastes like wine.
I will jump in the water and stay drunk all the time.
It is a beautiful day, the sun above is beating down.
I will beg for food, when I get to the next town.
I wake up every day not knowing where or when I will get my next meal.
When doors are left unlocked and no one is around, items are easier to steal.
Lord, can you guide me with a clear night sky.
Keep the rain away, so I stay warm and dry.
I need your protection from the wind and from the rain.
I am going to Rome, where the streets don’t have a name.
When I get there, I will raise my glass and give a toast.
I am having a blast singing this song, riding up the coast.
It is a beautiful day, the sun above is beating down.
I will beg for food, when I get to the next town.
I wake up every day not knowing where or when I will get my next meal.
When doors are left unlocked and no one is around, items are easier to steal.
I found out that I can’t face being alone,
I wish I was living on the streets of Rome.
I have always enjoyed traveling and there are many lands left to see.
I would be happy going nowhere if I only had my girl here with me.
I know that I must do what is right,
I hear you calling my name tonight.
It is a beautiful day, the sun above is beating down.
I will beg for food, when I get to the next town.
I wake up every day not knowing where or when I will get my next meal.
When doors are left unlocked and no one is around, items are easier to steal.
I seek adventure to prove that I am still alive.
I won’t know where I am going until I arrive.
I can’t really say exactly where I have been,
And I don’t know if I will come back again.
I am on a long and winding road and I don’t know the way.
I hope God will guide me and prevent me from going astray.
It is a beautiful day, the sun above is beating down.
I will beg for food, when I get to the next town.
I wake up every day not knowing where or when I will get my next meal.
When doors are left unlocked and no one is around, items are easier to steal.
Everything must end, but for now the girls make me sing and shout.
I have paid my dues, but I still do not know what my life is all about.
Lord, you know that I was born a traveling man.
I try to stay out of trouble and do the best I can.
The time is here for me to enjoy the best of life, laugh and sing my song.
I can’t stop this feeling in my heart, which helps me to remain strong.
It is a real big world out there with many places to go.
I will sing my song, bide my time and just take it slow.
It is a beautiful day, the sun above is beating down.
I will beg for food, when I get to the next town.
I wake up every day not knowing where or when I will get my next meal.
When doors are left unlocked and no one is around, items are easier to steal.
I have been driving for hours, my hands are on the reigns.
I am enjoying my life, I trust in God and I feel no pains.
Feeling good is easy Lord when I know that her love for me is real.
I have known this since she kissed me, by the way it made me feel.
Tonight I will dance all around and sing my song with joyful harmony.
I am traveling all alone and I wish my girl was here for company.

Leave a Reply

