Meticulous

A place for everything and everything in its place.  I have been dotting all the i’s and crossing all the t’s, and filling in all the particulars.  I just got each one of my ducks lined up in a row and I got my affairs sorted out and put in order.  I made a list and checked it twice, no stone was left unturned.  I examined every minute detail with a fine toothed comb, I checked every last fact and looked into every nook and cranny.  I preformed a microscopic inspection, searching for that proverbial needle in the haystack, so I wouldn’t be leaving anything to chance.  I had beat the all bushes and then I released the bloodhounds to pick up the scent.  I played out every scenario and I developed a master validation plan that included a contingency plan and I put in another backup plan, just in case.  I also inserted a back door into the code for security purposes that provides me with another way into the system, thus circumventing any new access controls that a future administrator might install.

I was not about to let anything slip through the cracks and go down the drain.  I stayed diligent using painstaking efforts to be accurate, extremely careful and precise.  It was an arduous journey, but I covered all the ground, going up every hill and down every dale, tenaciously digging an inch deep and a mile wide.  I was being thorough and although it was exhaustive, I knew that I had to be vigilant to remain efficient and stay competent.  I had to be alert, attentive, observant and watchful, while deliberately being cautious, discriminating, guarded, mindful and ever wary of going off track.  You might say that I am demanding, determined, exacting, finicky, fussy, intensive, particular or even strict, but this behavior is programmed into my genes and that is just the way I roll.  I worked so long as an electrical engineer where information was critical and it had to be correct and exact.  Now I am a writer and I use all of these tireless tools that I learned, so that I can stay patient enough to articulate the proper words.

Leave a Reply

