Still Wandering

I have wandered, but I have never been truly lost.  I have taken the road less traveled, I have made some wrong turns, encountered many bumps, detours and u-turns in the road, along with some very nasty potholes and at times I even hit some dead ends.  Life has been a long strange trip, but I was always able to rely on my own two feet, and eventually I found signs that put me back on my path, so I could either return home, or continue on my adventure.  I like to be happy as I think it is a much better option than being miserable.  I have accepted my past, knowing that it cannot be changed, so I live in the present having hopes about my future.  Achieving happiness requires people to go on with their lives and try to ignore or forget their remorse, misery and pain.  My positive attitude allows me to be happy.

I just checked my lottery ticket and I did not even have one number that was any good, but I am still happy.  Loss is hard to deal with for many people, losing the lottery is just a fact of life for me and it is easy for me to accept.  It is said that the bereavement felt from losing a child is probably the worst journey that anyone will ever have to take and this grief will last a lifetime.  I don’t know because I never had any children and this again can be a real sad event for any woman that is barren or any couple that has difficulty conceiving a baby.  For me happiness comes easy, as I am not hurting and although I have some medical issues, I do wake up every day and manage to put a smile on my face.  I am not a complete idiot that can’t help smiling, but for the most part I am content.

I have had some bad relationships and from this I have learned how to better avoid drama, trouble and craziness.  Some people have horrible demons inside of them, they are depressed, dysfunctional and constantly filled with grief.  I am uncertain whether or not my glass is half empty or half full, but I know that my brain is working, so I don’t let myself become miserable over things that I can control.  I have learned to deal with problems and my motto is that things could always be worse.  I know the story of Job and that Satan did many things to him that were not fair, but amazingly he was able to live with his pain.  Thus being happy is just a mental state where a person is able to make a go at life in spite of pain.

Leave a Reply

