Daily Dose of Eli

I have made my bed with the book that I wrote, and it is full speed ahead from now on, as the Ancient Book of Eli is set to be published very soon.  I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and there is no more need to put the pedal to the metal any longer.  I am coasting downhill, my engine is idling and I am saving gas, the game is all but over now, however Yogi Berra was known to say, “It ain’t over till it’s over”, and I can’t argue with that.

It is a triumph of sorts for me, but I am not looking for any special recognition for reaching this milestone in my life of completing my first novel, but it is always good to take some time out to celebrate your accomplishments.  I am happy with the way it turned out, it took me several years to complete it, and I can always re-evaluate any part of it before it finally gets published.  It is pretty much set in stone at this point and I will give it one final review to see if it needs any more minor edits.

Books can let you take a journey to different worlds that are filled with exciting people who get involved in exhilarating situations.  Reading provides a needed escape from the rigors of reality, but finding or making the time to read can often be an extremely difficult task.  Turning on a TV is an easy way to tune out and going on the internet is also relatively painless, while reading a book takes more effort, it can also be more rewarding.  People take books for granted, they do make great conversation pieces, but usually they spend most of their lives sitting up on shelves gathering dust.  Sure there are online books, but then you must be tied to a computer or a tablet or your phone if you have really good eyes.  Using technology to read an EBook brings in distractions that you will not encounter with a paper book.

My book will be published as an EBook on Amazon or Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP).  You will not need a Kindle device to read my book, as all you will really need is an account with Amazon.com and some type of computer.  This can be a PC, a Mac, an iPad, a tablet, or a Smart Phone and the best news is that the Kindle application is FREE to download.  I would like to hope that all of my readers find my book to be a satisfying distraction from the real world and that they cherish every page and each illustration as they take a vacation in their minds.  If any of my readers can find comfort in any of my words and they are allowed to drop their burdens off for a while as they are immersed in reading my book, then I have accomplished my goal.

Leave a Reply

